“This tweet is unavailable” – it can mean 3 different things

Well of course it might mean more but these are the three meanings I’ve found for it after puzzling over its appearance. I’m talking about this –

Cyh622SXAAcBiJh.jpg large.jpg

– which shows up on the desktop (website / browser) version of Twitter.

As far as I can tell you’ll see this pop up in tweets if

  1. the tweet has been deleted
  2. you have blocked the sender
  3. the original sender of the tweet has blocked you

But it’s the same message for each so you have to click through to the tweet to find out.

  1. If it’s been deleted then you’ll see a ‘tweet not here’ page
  2. If you’ve blocked the sender you will be able to see the tweet once you’ve clicked on it, and it will show you a button to indicate that you’ve blocked the person
  3. If you’ve been blocked then you’ll see a page telling you you’re not authorised to view the tweet, and the page’s address will include “visibility_check=true”. If you want to view it you’ll have to log out first, or use a differerent account, or a third party app

The slightly odd thing is that if you’re blocked other people can still see that the tweet is unavailable (they see what you see in other words), so Twitter informs other people that you’re blocked.

Possibly there are other times when the ‘This tweet is unavailable’ note appears, let me know if you’ve found another case.

 

Advertisements

4 thoughts on ““This tweet is unavailable” – it can mean 3 different things

  1. There are definitely other (unexplained) reasons for this too. For example: someone can “quote retweet” their own tweet, and it will sometimes display the “unavailable” message. Obviously they didn’t block themselves, and I am not blocked (or blocking them) because I am seeing it, so I can’t explain why it happens.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. From time to time I see it for all of my Tweets anywhere not on my own profile page, or one I have open directly. How I know: on a PC with two different browsers, one logged in, the other not. The one that is not logged in I go to a tweet thread I know I have tweets in and I keep this page open. When I suspect it has happened (zip notifications for an extended period) I refresh the page. This has lasted up to 48 hours and usually when I have posted on topic unpopular to some of a particular political view.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s