Sometimes you might find that you’ve been followed or tweeted to by someone that you weren’t expecting to find you on Twitter. This can happen for several reasons:
- they already follow other mutual friends and Twitter’s algorithms have suggested you as a possibility
- they searched for your name or someone told them (this includes your tweet being retweeted into their timeline)
- the email address you’ve used for Twitter is in their email contacts list and they’ve let Twitter trawl that list to find people’s matched Twitter handles – you can switch this off by making yourself less discoverable (make sure “Let others find me by my email address” is unticked)
- you’ve added your mobile phone number to Twitter during registration (make sure “Let others find me by my phone number” is unticked too (also you can remove your phone)
- you’ve added your Twitter info to your website
If you’ve changed your Twitter name / handle in the hope of being less findable then remember that this probably won’t work. Threaded conversations (if you click on a tweet you’ll see all its replies) will likely indicate your current name because any reply you sent previously will now be attributed to your new Twitter name.
“Although an account can change its @handle, it can never change its Twitter ID” – http://tweeterid.com/